Home / Automobile Technology / All You Need To Know About Bharat Stage 4 Or BS 4 Emission Norms

All You Need To Know About Bharat Stage 4 Or BS 4 Emission Norms

BS-4 or BS-IV (Bharat Stage 4) Emission norms are a set of norms and rules which set the guidelines for the permissible emission levels. The Emission norms are are classified under category of vehicles i.e. Commercial Vehicle, Passenger Vehicle, Light Duty , Heavy Duty Vehicle etc. & further classified under Diesel & Petrol (Gasoline) engine.


The Government Of India has fixed a deadline of April 2010 to implement BS-IV / BS 4 norms to selected cities. BS 4 will be applicable to NCR (National Capital Territory) (Delhi) and other 10 cities Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Pune, Surat, Kanpur and Agra.

There are many companies which came up with their BS-4 Complaint engines , with some of their engines modified & some with new engines, but soon all of the vehicle manufacturing companies will manufacture all types of engines compliant with BS-4 emission norms.

Some of the engines/models compliant are as follows:

soon all Indian / International automobile companies selling automobiles in India will convert or introduce BS-4 compliant engine in their vehicle. Some have already engines in their vehicles which comply with BS 4 Emission norms.

Love to read our updates? Get them via Email for FREE. Limited time offer, click here to subscribe.

Check Also


Toyota Innova, Corolla Altis and Fortuner Price Increased

The new India Union budget for this year 2010 lists a number of materials with …


  1. will skoda needs to replace its 2.0 pd engine in superb and laura after april 2010 for new emission norms

  2. @balkishanlal
    I am not sure whether these engines are already BS4 compatible or not, if not, they will have to upgrade them.

  3. I think its a good step from all automobiles firms..this shoould be implemented in all cities of country

  1. Pingback: Maruti KB Series Engines For Maruti Alto And Maruti Wagon R

  2. Pingback: Say Good-bye To Maruti 800 – Maruti 800 To Be Phased From April 2010

  3. Pingback: Poor Fuel May Damage BS-IV Engines – Problem With BS4 Emission Norms Implementation

  4. Pingback: Fiat Palio To Go Away Slowly

  5. Pingback: New Toyota Innova BS4 Model Specifications And Price In India

  6. Pingback: Indian Govt May Defer BS4 Emission Norms Implementation Date Due To Lack Of BS4 Fuel

  7. Pingback: New Skoda Laura And Skoda Superb Engine Features, Specifications, Cost, and Price In India

  8. Pingback: Increase In Car Prices And On Road Price in April 2010 After Bharat Stage 4 Emission Norms

  9. Pingback: Price Increase Details Of All Maruti Cars After BS-IV Emission Norms

  10. Pingback: Increase In Petrol And Diesel Prices After BS4 Emission Norms

  11. Pingback: Price Hike Of Mahindra Scorpio, Xylo & Bolero Up To Rs.26000

  12. Pingback: Maruti Alto 2 Lakh Rupees Strip Down Variant Launch In India

  13. Pingback: New Wagon R Launched Officially - Specifications, Features And Price

  14. Pingback: Mahindra Logan Is Cheaper By Up To Rs.80000 Now

  15. Pingback: Maruti Alto 2010 BS-IV Model Price, Specifications & Features

  16. Pingback: Indian Government To Encourage Small Electric Cars

  17. Pingback: Comparison Between New Wagon R And Ford Figo Petrol

  18. Pingback: New Maruti Alto With Powerful 1 Litre K Series Engine Coming Soon

  19. Pingback: Maruti Zen Estilo & Wagon R With Factory Fitted CNG Kit

  20. Pingback: New Volkswagen Polo Petrol 1.6 Specs Features Variants Price

  21. Pingback: Maruti Alto Strip Down Car With Smaller YP3 2 Cylinder Engine

  22. Pingback: Mahindra Thar 4x4 SUV Price Specification Features Details

  23. Pingback: Maruti YE3 Small Made In India Car- Details, Launch Date, Engine, Competitors

  24. Pingback: Mahindra Verito Sedan Launched In India At Rs. 4.82 Lakhs onwards- Details, Specs, Price, Pictures

  25. Pingback: Mitsubishi Pajero BS4 Looses Power And Torque For Cleaner Emissions

  26. Pingback: Mahindra Scorpio EX Low Cost SUV Price Specifications India

  27. Pingback: Tata Indica e-Xeta 2011 Petrol & LPG Small Car Replaces Ongoing Indica – Specifications Features Colours & Price

  28. Pingback: Hindustan Motors Ambassador Based Pickup Truck Veer Launched In India– Features and Price in India

  29. Pingback: Official – Maruti Suzuki India 800 CC Small Car Coming Soon

  30. Pingback: Maruti Swift 2011 New Model Detailed Features, Specifications, New Colour Options, Variants, Video and On-road Price

  31. Pingback: Premier Rio Petrol Launched In India- Price, Specifications, Features, Pictures Colour Options and Details

  32. Pingback: Honda Brio India Official Price List, Features, Specifications, Details, Colour And More

  33. Pingback: Skoda Rapid Officially Launched In India– Price, Specifications, Feature, Pictures, Videos, Colour Options and Details

  34. Pingback: Tata Nano 2012 Official Price, Specs, Features, Pictures, Video, Details

  35. Pingback: What Is New In 2012 New Model Mahindra Xylo MPV? Details Inside

  36. Pingback: Detailed Price List Of Chevrolet Tavera Neo 3 2012 New Model In India

  37. Pingback: 33 Cities Get BS4 Norms In March 2012- Car Prices May Increase

  38. Pingback: GM / Chevrolet India Car Launches In 2012 - Captiva, Sail, Spark, Enjoy Coming | CarBlogIndia - All About Automobiles

  39. Pingback: Chevrolet India Reports 13% Growth– Beat Records Highest Ever Monthly Sales | CarBlogIndia - All About Automobiles

  40. Pingback: Confused B/w New Hyundai iGen i20 Petrol And Volkswagen Polo Petrol? Detailed Comparison

  41. Pingback: Maruti Suzuki Small Car Priced Lower Than Alto To Replace Maruti 800 By End Of 2012

  42. Pingback: Maruti Suzuki Will Not Phase Out 800 and Alto k10 After Alto 800

  43. Pingback: Maruti Omni To Be Phased Out Soon

  44. Pingback: Specifications And Price Of Royal Enfield Electra Twin Spark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *