It was such an exciting weekend for Formula One fans in India when they witnessed the second season of the Indian Grand Prix kicking off at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, New Delhi. For the second season in continuation, Sebastian Vettel from team Red Bull Racing dominated the race. Fernando Alonso from team Ferrari showed some tremendous skills at the race track but could not catch the defending world champion, and took the second spot. Mark Webber from team Red Bull Racing bagged the third spot, though he struggled much after lap 30 due to his KERS unit failure.

The points, time/Lag and average speed of the top three drivers is as given below:

  1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) – Points: 25, Time: 1:31:10.744, Avg. mph: 202.183
  2. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) – Points: 18, Time: +9.437 Sec, Avg. mph: 201.835
  3. Mark Webber (Red Bull) – Points: 15, Time: +13.217 Sec, Avg. mph: 201.696

Aside from the these podium finishers, Lewis Hamilton from team McLaren gave good competition to Mark Webber but eventually could not keep up with the latter’s pace and satisfied himself with the fourth spot. Following Hamilton was Jenson Button from the same team who took the fifth position. The sixth spot was taken by Felipe Massa from team Ferrari. Kimi Raikonnen who started in the seventh place took the same position at the end of 60 laps.

Team Sahara Force India driver Nico Hulkenberg took the eighth place while his team mate Paul di Resta satisfied himself in twelfth place. Romain Grosjean and Bruno Senna took ninth and tenth place respectively, in final point scoring positions.

Indian F1 driver Narain Karthikeyan managed for the 21st place while his team mate Pedro De La Rosa could not finish the race as he hit a tyre wall after brake failure on lap 51.

Seven time world champion Micheal Schumacher suffered a puncture after a slight unintentional  collision with Jean Eric Vergne who was in his Torro Rosso. Sauber driver Sergio Perez also suffered a similar fate after clashing with the Torro Rosso of Daniel Ricciardo. Kamuyi Kobayashi clashed with the Williams of Pastor Maldonado but luckily both of them finished the race.

Image Source – BIC Facebook